## Madison County Board of Supervisors Meeting Quick Notes: January 2, 2024

- The Madison County Board of Supervisors, "the Board," elected Supervisor Gerald Steen as its President and Supervisor Karl M. Banks as its Vice-President. In addition, the Board voted to continue having meetings on the first and third Mondays at 9:00 a.m.
- It was announced that Madison County was awarded approximately \$4mm from the Broadband Expansion and Accessibility of Mississippi (BEAM) organization for rural broadband.
- The Board made the following Staff Appointments:
  - County Administrator: Greg Higginbotham
  - County Attorney: Mike Espy
  - County Engineer: Tim Bryan
  - Road Manager: Cornelius Bacon
  - Board Secretary: Gena Permenter
  - Comptroller: Na'Son White
  - Emergency Management Director: Albert Jones III
  - Justice Court-Chief Deputy: Cheryl Horn
  - Information Technology Director: Duane Thompson
  - Human Resources Director: Loretta Phillips
  - Veteran's Services Office: Mendal Kemp
  - Purchase Clerk: Kesha Jackson
  - Receiving Clerks: Myrtis Hawkins, Clara Griffin, Eva Fields, Abonie Robicheaux, Yahatta Johnson and LeeAnn Sanders
  - Inventory Control Clerk: Jay Hilliard
  - Planning & Zoning Director: Scott Weeks
  - Buildings & Grounds Director: Drew Ridinger
  - County Patrol: Seth Everett and Larmey Travis
  - Fire Services Director: Minor Norman
  - State Aid LSBP Engineer: John McKee
- The Board made the following appointments to Commissions and Boards:
  - Central Mississippi Emergency Management Services District: Tom Laraviere
  - Madison County Waste Authority: Keith O'Keefe
  - Pearl River Valley Water Supply: John Pittman
  - Central Mississippi Planning and Development District MS Works: Supervisor Karl M. Banks
  - Central Mississippi Planning and Development District Board of Directors: Dan Hart, Supervisor Gerald Steen, and Phil Buffington
  - Central Mississippi Planning and Development District-MPO: Dan Hart, Supervisors Casey Brannon, and Gerald Steen

- Central Mississippi Planning and Development District-Intermodal Technical Committee: Tim Bryan
- Madison County Planning and Zoning Board: Bill Billingsley (District One),
  Mandy Sumerall (District Two), Jean McCarty (District Three), Dr. Keith
  Rouser (District Four) and Reverend Henry Brown (District Five)
- The Board retained Capitol Resources for state government relations, consulting, and lobbying services.
- At the request of Supervisor Karl M. Banks, the Board reappointed Andrew Hughes to the Megasite Fire District Board.
- The Board granted a tax exemption for a parcel for Walnut Hill M.B. Church.
- At the request of Sheriff Randy Tucker, the Board appointed Barry Chandler as the County Fire Investigator for the Sherrif's Office.

The Madison County Board of Supervisors will meet next on January 16, 2024, at 9:00 a.m. in the Administrative Building in Canton.

--Please download our app, Madison Supervisors

--Please follow us on Facebook, Madison County MS Government